More About Me…


Outdoors

One of the things I spend most of my time doing is experiencing the outdoors. I love spending my time exploring all the great nature that our world has to offer. I love to hike, backpack, sail, camp and ski. I have hiked a lot of mountains in Alberta and British Columbia. By far, my favourite has been Ha Ling Peak, just outside of Canmore. I also really enjoyed the sailing trip I went on for a week just off the west coast. My goal is to be able to conquer the West Coast Trail in the summer of 2018. My experience in the outdoors has helped me to learn new skills and develop a strong love for our environment. 


Sports 

Growing up I have always been deeply involved in many sports and athletic activities. I’ve done dance, basketball, soccer, volleyball, swimming, running, and a few different track events. Throughout high school, I played on our senior and junior basketball team, as well as with a club team. I am now participating in sports recreationally and am training to participate in 5-10 km runs. I have found that being part of many sports teams has helped me to develop important leadership and team skills. I believe that a healthy, active lifestyle is important. 


Creativity

I have always been a creative person. I love to make crafts. I participated in dancing from the age of 2 to the age of 16. I did dance such as tap, jazz, ballet, and hip-hop. I am also very musically inclined. I participated in piano lessons for about six years and was an alto singer in choirs growing up. I have taken many art classes, enjoying painting and sculpting. Having a creative personality has helped me to be an outside-of-the-box-thinker and come up with creative ideas.


Work Experience 

I have had a few different work experiences over the past few years. Through high school I spent my time working in retail for Nordstrom, selling kids shoes. This was a good experience that taught me a lot about interactions with others and making good relationships. During my summers I have been a nanny for multiple different families. I love this job because it is always really fun for me! Kids make my job so much more fun. I am now working at the recreation center at Mount Royal University. This job is incredibly fun and has a great work culture. In this job I am gaining experience in working with a team and providing excellent customer service. 

Travelling 


Photo by KukZaa

I am an avid traveler. I love to travel because I can learn about cultures and gain unique experiences. I have travelled to many countries such as England, France, Mexico, Dominican Republic, United States, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, and Switzerland. My travelling experience has contributed to my personal growth and given me more knowledge about our world. I am looking forward to more adventures in many new places. 

Photo Journal – Please checkout some of the photos from my travels.


Volunteering 

First Alliance Church, Calgary
First Alliance Church Logo Retrieved from https://www.faccalgary.com/

Every Sunday morning I have spent about three hours volunteering. Since 2010 I have volunteered at First Alliance Church teaching Sunday school to 20 Kindergarten children. I enjoy working with and seeing the children grow into amazing people. Teaching these children is an experience that has inspired me to become a teacher.

DiscoveryLand – Follow this link to find out more about the Sunday school program I have been volunteering with.